Offering

Man Mo Temple, Hollywood Road, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong
Hong Kong, Sheung Wan

Click through to view monochrome version.

I, Bruce Lee, will be the first highest paid Oriental super star in the United States. In return I will give the most exciting performances and render the best of quality in the capacity of an actor. Starting 1970 I will achieve world fame and from then onward till the end of 1980 I will have in my possession $10,000,000. I will live the way I please and achieve inner harmony and happiness.
Bruce Lee, My Definite Chief Aim (Jan. 1969)

This Friday marks the 40th Anniversary of Bruce Lee’s final film Enter The Dragon, which premiered in Hong Kong 6 days after the actor had passed away (he was 32). Its box office success would posthumously bestow on Bruce the Hollywood superstar status he craved but had always eluded him.

15 thoughts on “Offering

  1. Bruce Lee would LOVE this, Michael. But I had no idea he died so young. Oh my. He certainly left his mark on the world. I’m hard-pressed to choose between the color or B&W version of your image but I think I’m going with the color version. Splendid!

  2. It too bad that Bruce did not live long enough to enjoy his fame and money.
    He died to young, that is for sure. Both pictures are beautiful, I think I go with the coloured version, love the touch of red.

  3. What a study in contrasts! The light and shadows, the penetrating rays and the subtle shadows, this piece of ancient culture and the modern fans and plastic bottles are quite a mix. Even the quote from Bruce Lee speaks to his desire to use the old ways and express them using modern media. It’s the backbone of progress to build upon things that have already been established. Your photo would be a great discussion starter about that.

  4. There’s no doubt in my mind that the colour version is my image of choice – really love those shafts of light. The only thing missing is Bruce!

Comments are closed.